Morning Glories Galore!

Good morning, Jess here!  I’ve gotta admit…I have loved all of the flowers Effie has released this year but these wild morning glories just might be my absolute favorites.  Slightly under the foxes…but not by much! 😉

Morning glories have always been a favorite flower of mine and I have a lot of wonderful summer memories waking up early and seeing the bright pinks and purples all over my mom’s gardens in the backyard!  For my card today I wanted to try to capture that explosion of color and I’m pretty happy with the way it turned out!

To start off I stamped morning glories all over a piece of watercolor paper and heat-embossed them with white powder.  I used masks so that I could layer the morning glories, leaves, and buds.  I also stamped several flowers and leaves on a scrap piece of watercolor paper, heat-embossed them with white powder, and fussy cut them.  Next I used my zig markers and a waterbrush to watercolor the flowers and leaves.  I added a soft wash of watercolors in the background and splattered some pink across the whole panel.

I stamped the sentiment from Thanks a Bunch onto a piece of vellum and tore the edges to give it a softer look.  I adhered the sentiment to my card and then layered the extra flowers and leaves around the sentiment.  I adhered some of them with foam mounting tape to give it a little more dimension.  Finally I finished the card with a sprinkling of Glass Slippers sparkling clear sequins and silver round diamond gems!

Thanks so much for stopping by today and have a fabulous weekend!

-Jess

7 thoughts on “Morning Glories Galore!

  1. Shari says:

    Gorgeous card. The morning glories on my fence are purple, and I just love them. This card reminds me of my moonflowers (not sure if that’s really what they’re called).. They look like morning glories, but they don’t bloom until night fall. Absolutely love this card. ♥♥♥

    Like

  2. Lisaerica says:

    Hey Jess, I love the bright colors, very pretty. It definitely make me think of warmer weather, lol. Thanks for sharing and inspiring.

    Like

Leave a comment