Haute Stripes and Peonies

Good morning, Jess here with a pair of cards featuring some of our Large Peony stamps and the Haute Stripes background stamp!

Kathy Racoosin recently hosted a 30 Day Coloring Challenge and I joined the challenge by coloring flowers everyday for a month!  I just stamped and heat-embossed a variety of floral stamps and used different mediums for coloring.  At the end of the month I had a whole stack of pre-colored flowers ready to be made into cards!  The two flowers I’m using today were from that stack (and there’s a bunch more where they came from…I’m a bit of a peony addict)! 🙂

For the first card I stamped and heat-embossed the Large Peony 1 on copic-friendly cardstock and colored it with copic markers.  I used my Scan N Cut to cut the flower with a thin white border which really helps it pop against my background.  Next I stamped the Haute Stripes background stamp onto a piece of black cardstock with versamark and embossed it with clear embossing powder for a tone on tone look.  I trimmed the panel down at an angle so that the stripes would be slightly diagonal.  I adhered the black panel to a white card base, adhered the flower, and added the sentiment label using foam mounting tape for dimension.  The sentiment is from the Fresh Cut Orchids stamp set and is heat-embossed with white embossing powder.

My second card features the Large Peony 2 heat-embossed with versafine and clear embossing powder, colored with zig markers, and blended with a waterbrush.  I also cut it out with a thin white border.  I used one of the scraps I trimmed off of the black striped panel from my first card and offset it over a strip of white cardstock before attaching it to a black panel.  I planned out where the flower would lay and then removed it so that I could stamp my sentiment.  Before stamping, I curved my sentiment from Fresh Cut Roses on an acrylic block to follow the line of the flower and heat-embossed it with white embossing powder.  I adhered the black panel to a white cardbase and then adhered my flower with foam mounting tape.

I love how the two cards are similar yet so different and how I was able to use scraps from one card to complete the second!  I hope you like them and that I’ve given you an idea of how to use those scraps from a 6×6 stamp! 😉  Thanks so much for visiting and have a great day!

10 thoughts on “Haute Stripes and Peonies

  1. glow:) says:

    jess.. awesome for wow-wowing me;) take care and keep up that artistic talent of yours;0) sending hugs across the miles..

    Like

Leave a comment